Architecture and Art. The castle appears as a single unit, but it is a complex made up of three distinct walled perimeters. In the great courtyard, from which access is gained to the museum today, there was a garrison; the wide space served as a training ground for the soldiers, and it was closed on three sides by the turreted wall. The first tower was called the Clock Tower; at this tower, the church of San Martino in Aquaro had been conserved. The second tower pertained to the drawbridge and postern, the third protected the corner and the fourth protected the wall towards the river. The so-called royal palace, namely the residence of the della Scala family, was developed on two floors of the building.
The bridge. The bridge rises along a tract of the Adige River where the riverbed is about 120 m wide. Because of the natural grade of the riverbed, it does not deposit or excavate material. The bridge is a masterpiece of engineering, absolutely one of the best examples that can be cited for the thirteenth century. It has three arched spans; the overall length of the bridge is 119,90 m. The base of the piles and arched lintels are made of local stone; the rest of the bridge is in brick. The bridge was minded by the retreating Germans and blown up on the evening of 24 April 1945, as was the Stone Bridge. In 1951, the bridge was inaugurated, at the end of a delicate and exemplary reconstruction entirely in conformity with the original.